Skip to main content

Tradition Credit

How Does the New 3-Day Cooling-Off Period for Moneylender Loans Work in Singapore?

Man in a pale pink shirt checks his silver wristwatch at a cafe table by large windows.... Wait remove ellipsis.

From 15 September 2026, borrowers get three business days to cancel an unsecured loan from a licensed moneylender at a reduced cost. This article covers when the window runs, what cancelling actually costs in S$, which loans fall outside it, and which details the Ministry of Law has not published yet.

From 15 September 2026, a mandatory cooling-off period of three business days applies to unsecured loans taken from licensed moneylenders in Singapore, other than business loans. Saturdays, Sundays and Singapore public holidays are not counted. A borrower who cancels within the window is charged no interest, and the licensed moneylender may retain no more than S$50 of the approval fee on a loan of S$5,000 or less, or no more than 3.5% of the principal on a larger loan. The total amount repaid cannot exceed the original principal. (As of September 2026.)

How does the new 3-day cooling-off period for moneylender loans work in Singapore?

The cooling-off period gives a borrower three business days, starting when the loan is received, to cancel an unsecured loan from a licensed moneylender and repay it at a capped cost. No interest is charged on a cancellation inside that window. The borrower returns the amount still held, plus the limited portion of the approval fee the moneylender is allowed to keep.

The sequence is short. The loan is granted and the money arrives, minus the upfront approval fee. Three business days run. Cancel inside them and the repayment is the remaining amount actually disbursed plus the permitted portion of the approval fee — never more than the principal.

This was announced by the Ministry of Law on 31 August 2026 in Mandatory Cooling-off Period for Loans Taken from Licensed Moneylenders. Licensed moneylenders in Singapore are regulated by the Registry of Moneylenders, Ministry of Law.

Do the three days start when I sign the contract, or when the money reaches me?

The cooling-off period begins when the borrower receives the loan, not when the contract is signed. That is the point MinLaw’s announcement fixes. What the announcement does not yet spell out is the finer counting question — whether the day the money is received is itself business day one, or whether counting starts on the next business day.

Are weekends and public holidays counted?

No. The period is three business days, which excludes Saturdays, Sundays and Singapore public holidays.

So when exactly does my window close?

Until MinLaw publishes the counting rule, no one can state a precise closing day, and this article will not guess one. A borrower who has changed their mind should work to the earlier of the two readings and contact the licensed moneylender as soon as the decision is made.

When does the rule take effect, and does it apply to a loan I already have?

The cooling-off framework takes effect on 15 September 2026. MinLaw’s announcement states the implementation date but does not set out an express transitional provision for loans granted before that date. Anyone with a loan taken out earlier should treat the position as pending official implementation guidance rather than assume either outcome.

Is this the same as backing out before the money is disbursed?

No. The announced cooling-off period operates once the borrower has received the loan. Declining a loan before any money changes hands is a different situation and is not what this framework addresses.

Which loans are covered, and which are not?

The cooling-off period applies to all unsecured loans from licensed moneylenders other than business loans. Business loans are excluded by name. Secured loans sit outside the announced scope, which is expressed in terms of unsecured lending.

It is not a rule about banks. It applies to licensed moneylenders, who are regulated by the Registry of Moneylenders, Ministry of Law; bank personal loans and credit cards fall outside it.

Three questions sit inside this scope that MinLaw has not separately addressed, and they should not be answered from inference:

  • Debt consolidation loans, renewals, top-ups and refinancing. The announcement does not classify these transactions. Pending official implementation guidance.
  • Foreigners and work pass holders. The announcement refers to borrowers generally and does not exclude foreigners residing in Singapore, who are already covered by the existing unsecured borrowing caps. The detailed treatment is pending official implementation guidance.
  • Two loans from two different licensed moneylenders. The announcement does not explain how the window works across multiple lenders. Pending official implementation guidance.

How much do I have to repay if I cancel during the cooling-off period?

A borrower who cancels within the cooling-off period repays the remaining amount actually disbursed, plus a capped portion of the approval fee. No interest is charged. The total repaid cannot exceed the principal of the loan. Before this framework, a licensed moneylender could retain the full approval fee — which may be up to 10% of the principal — and any accrued interest.

Maximum approval fee a licensed moneylender may retain on a cooling-off cancellation (as of September 2026)

Principal amount of unsecured loanMaximum portion of approval fee that may be retained
S$5,000 or lessS$50, and not more than the approval fee actually charged
More than S$5,0003.5% of the principal, and not more than the approval fee actually charged

These are maximum amounts, not automatic charges. The retained amount can never be more than the approval fee the moneylender actually charged on that loan.

Worked example: a S$3,000 loan cancelled inside the window

Assume a S$3,000 unsecured personal loan with the approval fee charged at the maximum 10% of principal, cancelled during the cooling-off period with no repayment yet made. All figures as of September 2026.

S$3,000 loanS$8,000 loan
PrincipalS$3,000S$8,000
Approval fee at 10%, deducted upfrontS$300S$800
Cash actually receivedS$2,700S$7,200
Maximum fee retained on cancellationS$50S$280 (3.5%)
Total repayable on cancellationS$2,750S$7,480
Cost of changing your mindS$50S$280
Same fee retained before this frameworkS$300 + accrued interestS$800 + accrued interest

Two things fall out of that table. On the S$3,000 loan the borrower repays S$50 more than the cash actually received, because the approval fee came off the top before the money arrived; MinLaw’s own illustration shows the same pattern, with S$900 received on a S$1,000 loan and up to S$950 repayable. And because of how the bands are set, a loan just above S$5,000 carries a higher retained amount than one at exactly S$5,000.

Can I ever repay more than I borrowed?

No. The total amount repayable on a cooling-off cancellation cannot exceed the principal of the loan. Note this is a different rule from the general cap under which total charges — interest, late interest, upfront administrative fee and late fees — cannot exceed the loan principal.

I’ve already spent part of the money.

Cancelling means returning the principal still held plus the retained fee portion. The practical question is whether that amount can be returned inside the window.

How do I actually cancel, and what proof should I get?

MinLaw has not yet published the cancellation procedure. Whether a reason must be given, whether notice must be in writing, and whether a prescribed form or acknowledgement exists are all pending official implementation guidance, and no licensed moneylender’s website can state them yet.

What is already required of licensed moneylenders in Singapore is useful here. They must explain contract terms in a language the borrower understands, give the borrower a copy of the Note of Contract, issue a receipt for every repayment, and provide a statement of account at least every January and July. A borrower cancelling within the window should keep the receipt for the repayment together with the Note of Contract.

Whether the moneylender must tell the borrower about the cooling-off period at signing is also not stated in the announcement.

What if I miss the window?

After the three business days, the loan runs on its contract terms. As of September 2026, licensed moneylenders in Singapore may charge at most 4% monthly interest, calculated on the remaining principal, and a late fee of at most S$60 for each month of late repayment. A borrower who is struggling should raise it with the lender rather than wait.

Will cancelling affect my credit record or my next application?

How a loan cancelled under the new framework will appear in a Moneylenders Credit Bureau (MLCB) report has not been specified in the published guidance. Claims that a cancelled loan disappears from MLCB, or that it stays on record for a set number of years, are not supported by any current official source.

A later application is a fresh loan. As of September 2026, licensed moneylenders in Singapore may charge an administrative fee of up to 10% of the principal when a loan is granted, so a new loan can carry a new fee. Approval is subject to the lender’s assessment of your income, existing loans and repayment ability.

What if a moneylender won’t honour the cooling-off period?

A borrower can contact the Registry of Moneylenders at 1800-2255-529 about a suspected breach by a licensed moneylender. The published announcement does not set out a specific remedy for refusal to honour a cooling-off cancellation, so the position on that is pending official implementation guidance.

Before anything else, check that the lender is licensed. Any borrower can verify a moneylender’s name, licence number, physical address and website against the Registry’s List of Licensed Moneylenders in Singapore.

Do unlicensed lenders give a cooling-off period?

The framework applies to licensed moneylenders. Unlicensed moneylending is illegal in Singapore regardless of what terms are offered. Information about suspected loansharking activity goes to the police X-Ah-Long hotline on 1800-924-5664, which is for loansharking matters rather than disputes with licensed moneylenders.

Which parts of the rule has MinLaw not published yet?

As of 8 September 2026, the scope, start date, fee-retention caps, no-interest rule and repayment ceiling are all stated in MinLaw’s announcement. Eight points are not: the exact day-counting rule, the implementing legal instrument, the treatment of debt consolidation loans and refinancing, the position on multiple lenders, any disclosure duty at signing, the cancellation notice or form, the treatment of renovation loans, and the MLCB presentation of a cancelled loan. Any page stating those today is going beyond the published record.

Frequently asked questions

Does the cooling-off period apply to bank loans and credit cards?

No. The three-business-day cooling-off period taking effect on 15 September 2026 applies to unsecured loans from licensed moneylenders, which are regulated by the Registry of Moneylenders, Ministry of Law. Banks and credit card issuers are not licensed moneylenders and are not covered.

Are weekends and public holidays counted in the three days?

No. The period is three business days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and Singapore public holidays. The finer question of whether the day the loan is received counts as day one has not been published by MinLaw.

Do I need to give a reason for cancelling?

MinLaw’s announcement does not state whether a reason, written notice or prescribed form is required. That is pending official implementation guidance, and this page will be updated when it is published.

Are renovation loans covered?

The announcement does not name renovation loans. The test it sets is whether the loan is an unsecured loan from a licensed moneylender that is not a business loan. The specific treatment of renovation loans is pending official implementation guidance.

If I cancel and apply again later, will I pay a new approval fee?

A later application is a fresh loan. As of September 2026, licensed moneylenders may charge an administrative fee of up to 10% of the principal at grant, so a new fee can apply. Approval is subject to the lender’s assessment.

What proof should I get that the loan was cancelled?

Licensed moneylenders must issue receipts for repayments, so keep the receipt for the repayment made to cancel, along with your Note of Contract. Whether a specific cancellation acknowledgement is prescribed is pending official implementation guidance.

What happens if I try to cancel on day four?

The cooling-off period runs for three business days. Afterwards the loan continues on its contract terms — as of September 2026, at most 4% monthly interest on the remaining principal and a late fee of at most S$60 for each month of late repayment.

A note on borrowing responsibly

A cooling-off period is a safeguard, not a reason to borrow more readily. Borrow only what you can repay from your income, and check the total cost before you sign rather than relying on the three days afterwards. As of September 2026, unsecured borrowing from all licensed moneylenders combined is capped at S$3,000 for Singapore Citizens and PRs earning below S$20,000 a year, and at six times monthly income at S$20,000 or more; foreigners residing in Singapore have their own tiers. A voluntary self-exclusion scheme is available through MLCB for anyone who wants to block new unsecured moneylender loans.

TRADITION CREDIT CO PTE. LTD. Licence No. 132/2025 205 Bedok North Street 1, #01-371, Singapore 460205 · 6283 1323

Approval is subject to the lender’s assessment of your income, existing loans and repayment ability. You can verify our licence, and any other moneylender’s, on the Ministry of Law’s List of Licensed Moneylenders in Singapore.

Sources